Hi, I'm new to both this forum and Final Fantasy

Kahotep

Pharaoh
Gil
A good online friend of mine said he was a big fan of the Final Fantasy games, so I've grown interested in playing them. Unfortunately, the only FF title I have been able to find for my PC is XIV, which is an MMORPG that requires a subscription fee I'm not willing to pay. Nonetheless, the mechanics of the other games sound cool to me and I like the fantasy genre in general, so I feel that joining this community was worthwhile anyway.

I'm a Biological Anthropology major at the University of California in San Diego and would like to receive a PhD. in the field someday, but I'm also fascinated by cultural anthropology, history, and paleontology (dinosaurs were my first love). My two main hobbies besides playing PC games are drawing and creative writing. As you might guess from my username, I am especially interested in ancient African civilizations such as Egypt and Nubia; I think a FF game with an Egypto-Nubian or other African theme would be novel and awesome. I don't plan to get deep into the game design industry, but sometimes I bubble with ideas for games I'd like to play.

I look forward to interacting with this community!

Welcome to the forum. You seem like a very interesting person.

I also agree that an Egyptian-themed FF game would be good, or indeed any game of this theme. Egypt tends to be used to represent very ancient civilisations (such as peoples like the Cetra / Ancients in FFVII, if you ever get your hands on that one). I don't think it is very common to have a game actually set when that sort of a civilisation was still thriving or functioning. I've heard that Assassins' Creed 3 will be set in Egypt (albeit it's possible that it would be Ptolemaic period, if not even later).