Serious Career Advice

blakstang98

Paladin
Veteran
Gil
I'm not sure if this forum got any older from back in the days when I was more active, and if it has, maybe you can help me.

So I've been working at my current job for 5+ years. It's a solid job and I've really had very few bad days of work. It was even a good escape from when things at home were chaotic (like when we bought our current house, what a disaster that was). In May of last year, my boss unexpectedly passed away. Since then, our department has been in disarray. It's led to some annoying moments. Luckily for me, I help out in another department, which so happened to be really busy for the last year. To be frank, working that department is better these days. I will, however, be returning to my original, managerless department soon.

So I did just touch on the 1st problem to arrive. After 14 months, we still don't have a manager. And unfortunately, this has led to lots of disagreements with the others. I understand that under the circumstances, we sort of had to gut through it without a manager because of the sudden passing. But after 14 months, you still haven't replaced him? Not to mention, there are 3 of us, and they are very adamant about replacing the manager with basically a carbon copy of him. It's a very niche industry and people with experience in this type of manufacturing, and finding someone who can step into that role isn't easy. Not to mention, one of us would be a better replacement than taking someone outside the company, showing them the ropes, then they have to run the show. I haven't been around for nearly the time to run the department, but it sets a bad precedent for when I do have the experience to take that role, should it come upon me. Basically, I feel like I've hit a dead end. I'm still young enough that I would like to believe that I can make it to the top in my department some day.