Original A Mother for Lillienne

Josef Hare

Lord Benovine
Gil
Hi everyone. I'm new to the forums, and I've only just found this subsection! I've been a writer all my life, and I'm currently in the process of publishing my first novel, which hopefully I'll get to talk about on here soon. I've started working on my second novel, it's called A Mother for Lillienne, and I just wanted to post the prologue to see if anyone has any thoughts!

Well, here it is. Hope you take the time to read.

Apologies if there are anything formatting problems. It's very strange, on my word processor it's fine, but when I copy and paste it here... hmm.

The first thing I knew was that I was loved. Even before I had a concept of self, I felt that I was wrapped in the sticky warmness of truelove. Like a raindrop in the reverse, I dripped upwards from my puddle, becoming something new.

Fora long time, there was only darkness. I had no idea of good, but I knew that the darkness was nurturing me. Then, time passed, in a moment, and in an eternity, and the first light pierced through the ever-lasting black, wakening me from my slumber.

Strange sensations shoot through me, things that I can't even hope to comprehend. The sounds I hear come to me in whips, snapping at me in perfect unison with the darkness that falls away piece by piece. I am certain these are not the first sounds I have heard, and yet I know they are a signal of a new beginning.

Soon,there is no darkness left. My heart pangs with excitement, for the first time, I can see. Others, there are others here, my mind is filled with questions.

“Hello.How are you?” I ask the flower. All I get in response is a small dance, the bright yellow petals fluttering, green stalk bending courteously.

“Hello Sun. How is it up there?” I smile appreciatively at the bright ball in the sky, but find it hard to look at it too long.