Owning a business

rowe

Eternally Begrudged
Veteran
Gil
Have you ever owned (and/or manage) your own business(es)? Or thought about starting one up?

I own two of them, with the latter formed last month. (Actually just registered it with the state yesterday.) Even though they're both under a year old, I'm feeling the pressure and stress of running them. (And now it's tax time, so it should be even more fun. :lew:)

Overall, it's a rewarding experience. I have goals set in mind. I know who and what I want to target. My business plans are solid. I have customers whom I have great rapport with. My fellow owners (for the first business) are supportive and engaged. I'd like to keep that all there as these ventures progress.

Not to such an extent of having physical business but i've been self employed so I know how much of a pain doing your own taxes is. :ffs:

What is it that you're doing?

How long are your taxes going to take? (Kidding there.) :lew:

i'm a self employed camera operator, but only for the last six months or so. i haven't really earned much because the film & tv industry isn't exactly easy to get a foot hold in. so far the only paid work i've had is a wedding video and camera assisting on two football matches that were on sky. i've got a documentary upcoming that should pay pretty well though.

i won't have to do my taxes until next year i don't think, because i won't have been self employed for a full calendar year so i'm spared that horror for a while.

What is it that you're doing?

How long are your taxes going to take? (Kidding there.) :lew:

I'm not self employed any more, but I was just a freelance IT technician. They didn't take outrageously long but you had to keep on top of them in a week by week basis and getting them in on time was a pain when I was back at uni too :ffs: