Fleeting Sexual Influence?

Vice Nebulosa

Dark Matter Turner
Gil
Right; I don't know whether this subject is about to broach much debate, but it seemed a tad . . . risqué for the general forums. :huh:

Anyway, my interest lies specifically in the presence of elements in my own writing compositions that, while not overtly sexual (nothing so blatant as intercourse, or even romance, really), are nonetheless colored by sensual descriptions. The issue can be writ larger into a statement about sex in general, but as I have no direct experience with the activity, I am not in a position to affirm or refute. This is where any of you with sexual experience become potential sources of wisdom.

I have written three short stories in the past two months or so, short-term projects designed to ease the tension of the latter half of the first university term, laden as it was with essays and exam preparations. Far more than my larger projects, I notice that sexual imagery and suggestion is present in the description of individual (invariably female) characters. It is fairly subtle, but it is there. And though it is fairly inevitable that my literary projects, at times, will lead me to more explicit regions of the sexual sphere, it is significant to note that, in the short stories, the sensual flavor was never planned out beforehand. This means that, for the most part, this aspect of the narratives evolved as they were being written, and were probably linked to whatever mood I happened to be in at the time.